REVIEW The Inn at Ocean’s Edge by Colleen Coble

I picked up a “new to me” author the other week. Not sure why I picked the book; the cover’s not my usual thing altho I did see a Karen Kingsbury recommend. That might be it. ocean

The author’s page and some buying links (I’m not affiliated to these) are here: http://colleencoble.com/books/the-inn-at-oceans-edge/

Synopsis: The minute she steps inside the grand Inn at Ocean’s Edge, Claire Dellamare knows something terrible happened there. She feels it in her bones. Her ensuing panic attack causes a scene, upsetting her parents. Claire attempts to quiet her nerves with a walk on the beach, to no avail. She’s at too great a distance to make out details, but she believes she witnesses a murder on a nearby cliff. When local police find no evidence of foul play, they quickly write off the “nervous” woman’s testimony as less than credible.

But Luke Rocco, home on leave from the Coast Guard, has reason to believe Claire. Years ago when his mother went missing, Luke’s father suspected she’d been murdered. He died never having convinced the police to investigate. So when an employee of the grand hotel doesn’t show up for work, Luke steps in to help Claire track down the missing woman.

As Claire and Luke put together the pieces of a decades-old mystery, they discover that some family secrets refuse to stay buried. And some passions are worth killing for.

So far (40+ pages in) I’m getting hooked. I found the intro a little disjointed, altho this may just be moving straight away from a Nora Roberts series read into this. But I’m now wondering how everyone links together and who Claire saw. I can see myself reading the older titles from this author. Maybe not the historical, but certainly her Hope Beach series. I’ll let you know how I get on with this one.

Leave a Reply

