Book Review: The Dirty Life by Kristen Kimball

Subtitle: On Farming, Food & Love

Publisher: Scribner (Simon & Schuster)

Subject: 631.584 – agriculture biography

Recommended by: Elise Cripe @ www.elisejoy.com

Author blog/website: www.kristinkimball.com/

book

Well, there was precious little food in here – certainly no recipes like in “The Feast Nearby”. Kimball still writes as if for a magazine audience and at least she isn’t shy of writing about her failings (especially emotionally) but there were many times I just wanted to shut the book and move on. I do think that I would have been better to leave a decent gap between Feast and Dirty – more because I enjoyed Feast so much – so that’s my take-away lesson. Leave gaps!

However she does describe the characters beautifully and I really did enjoy that aspect of the book. 2 stars from me.

One thought on “Book Review: The Dirty Life by Kristen Kimball

Leave a Reply

